Press release – Annual Awards for Endurance Riders:


Press release – Annual Awards for Endurance Riders

A mother and daughter combination triumphed at this year’s South West Annual Awards Dinner for Endurance riders.

Glenda and Shannon Smith from Altarnun, with their horses Black Jack and Bomber, won a total of seven awards between them and 12-year-old Shannon was runner-up in three more.

Shannon (left) and Glenda Smith on Bomber and Black Jack at the Minions Moorland Ride in July. Photo by mbaphotos.

Together, they were joint winners of the prestigious Open Level Challenge Shield with the highest number of points gained in Open Graded rides in the South West.

Glenda Smith won the Kernow Award for a combination of novice and open rides, and the Hairy Harry Award for unregistered horses. Shannon was runner up for both trophies. Glenda and Black Jack also won the Spice, Spirit of Westwood Award for the horse and rider combination achieving the highest number of miles in all South West rides.

Shannon won the Junior Rider Trophy for the most successful ride completions in the 2008 season and the Peter Hawkey Forage Trophy for the new member gaining the most points from all levels of ride in their first season. She was also runner up for the Blue Zephyr Memorial Trophy for the novice junior gaining the most points in all EGB rides.

Glenda and Shannon Smith being presented with one of their awards by Michael Harris of Combe Farm Arabians.

Other great results included the Advanced Level Challenge Shield, which was won by Carolyn Paget from St Day on her little mare Midnight Mischief, who also won the Laila’s Award for the Top Mare in the South West.

Two members received Ton-Up Club awards (for horse and rider combinations that have successfully completed 100 miles in one day), Annie Joppe on Dilmun and Nicky Sherry on Shimmering Blue Jasmin.

Sue Speed won the Moluq Trophy for Veteran Riders over 60 years for the third year running, and was given a replica to keep.

The Shiera Shoe is awarded to the best mare competing in ERs. This year it was a clean sweep for Nicky Sherry who was 1st with Shimmering Blue Jasmin and 2nd with Silver Zourra.

Other results were: Advanced Level Challenge Shield, 2nd Last Flight and Pam Ritchie, 3rd Master Flash and Phillipa Davidson. Open Level Challenge Shield, 3rd Cascade and Jo Lethbridge. Novice Level Challenge Shield, 1st Habiba Bint Krayaan and Susan Moore, 2nd Sunny I and Mary Martin, 3rd Blue Twilight Eclipse and Val Kemp. Devonian Award, 1st Lorien and Janet Lander. Darkness Shield for the best registered pure or Anglo Arab 1st Habiba Bint Krayaan and Susan Moore, 2nd Last Flight and Pam Ritchie. The Novice Trophy for horse and rider combinations in their first season went to Jennifer Bridge and Ra Djoser, 2nd Mary Martin and Sunny 1. Abby Chisholm was runner up for the Junior Rider Trophy. The Young Rider Achievement Award went to Sarah Arthur, 2nd Emily Nott . The Cheffey Trophy for male riders went to Tristan Bishop with Ben Joppe as the runner up. The Glory Trophy for horses in their first season of ERs went to Silver Zourra with Nicky Sherry, 2nd Last Flight with Pam Ritchie. The overall Arab Champion with the highest number of points in all rides was Grey Medlar and Jo Chisholm, 2nd was Dilmun with Annie Joppe. The winner of the Heather Trophy for registered native ponies went to Meric Prince and Emma Hill, 2nd was Ruby’s Moment with Tamsin Williams. The Moluq Trophy for veteran riders, 2nd was Jenny Pierson. The Prince Merlin Trophy for registered Part Bred Arabs, 1st Esta Leonardo Diablo and Amanda Nicholson, 2nd Diamonds Belkira and Katherine Letherby. The Jigsaw Puzzle Perpetual Trophy for the best veteran horse or pony went to Grey Medlar and Jo Chisholm, 2nd was Yakamin and Sue Speed. The runner up for Laila’s Reward Top Mare was Emily with Paula Steer. The Blue Zephyr Memorial Trophy was won by Tamzin Williams. The Yakamin Trophy for the horse and rider combination achieving the highest number of points in any ride nationally, was won by Grey Medlar and Jo Chisholm, 2nd Dilmun and Annie Joppe. The Mistrahl Cup for the best South West FEI Rider went to Karen Jones, 2nd was Annie Joppe. The Peter Hawkey Forage Trophy, 2nd was Jennifer Bridge. The Spice, Spirit of Westwood Award, 2nd was Phillipa Davidson and Master Flash. The Associate Membership Award went to Charlotte Hayward. The South West Achievement Award for the person who made the largest contribution to SW Endurance in 2008, went to Stevie Martin. The most deserving Crew of the Year was Paul Nicholson and the award for the Volunteer of the Year, went to Pauline Morris.

Ride Organisers of the South West Endurance Group

Jane Holden

Do you and your horse compete regularly in Endurance Racing ? Or maybe you would like to see a feature on the site? If so then send the address and/or (URL) with your feature to webmaster@arabianlines.com


© Arabian Lines 2001 - 2007 All Rights Reserved